About us

Archaeological Studies
Professor David Berikashvili

Archaeologist. Head of Samshvilde Archaeological Expedition. Director of the International Archaeological Center of the University of Georgia. Co-Director of Samshvilde Summer School.

(+995) 599-319-915

www.ug.edu.ge

d.berikashvili@yahoo.com

Historical Studies
Professor Manana Sanadze

Historian, Samshvilde Historical Studies. President of the University of Georgia

(+995) 599-292-317

www.ug.edu.ge

m.sanadze@ug.edu.ge

IT/GIS Studies
Professor Sergo Tsiramua

School of Informatics and Mathematics at the University of Georgia

(+995) 591-922-987

www.ug.edu.ge

s.tsiramua@ug.edu.ge

International Relations
Professor Alvaro Higueras

Archaeologist. International Expert in Cultural Heritage Managment

www.tiwanakuarcheo.net

alvarohig@yahoo.com

Art and Paleographic Studies
Dr. George Gagoshidze

Art Historian of Samshvilde Archaeological Expedition. Senior researcher at the National Agency for Cultural Heritage Preservation of Georgia.

(+995) 593-350-318

www.heritagesites.ge

g.gagoshidze@yahoo.com

Bioarchaeological and Mortuary Studies
Isabelle Coupal, MA

Head of Bioarchaeology and Co-Director of Samshvilde Summer School. Ph.D student in Anthropology at the University of Montreal.

1-514-343-6111 ext. 3596 (Canada)

isabelle.coupal@umontreal.ca

Numismatical Studies
Dr. Maia Pataridze

Numismatist of Samshvilde Archaeological Expedition. Senior researcher at the Georgian National Museum.

+(995) 599-379-100

www.museum.ge

mpataridze@hotmail.com

Palynological Studies
Professor Eliso Kvavadze

Palynologist of Samshvilde Archaeological Expedition. Institute of Palaeobiology of the Georgian National Museum.

+(995) 599-480-285

www.museum.ge

e.kvavadze@ug.edu.ge ; ekvavadze@mail.ru

Archaeobotanical Studies
Professor Aldona Mueller-Bieniek

Archaeobotanist of Samshvilde Archaeological Expedition. Department of Paleobotany, Institute of Botany of the Polish Academy of Sciences.

+48 12 424 17 54 (Poland)

a.muller@botany.pl

Prehistoric Studies
Professor Emeritur Guram Grigolia

Main scientific consultant of Samshvilde Archaeological Expedition. Ivane Javakhishvili State Univerity (Tbilisi).

+(995) 599-258-568

www.tsu.edu.ge

g.grigolia@tsu.edu.ge

Geophysical Studies
Dr. David Odilavadze

Geophysician and Head of GPR studies of Samshvilde Archaeological Expedition. Senior scientist at the M. Nodia Institute of Geophysics.

+(995) 577-426-954

odildavit@gmail.com

Petrographical and mineralogical Studies
Professor Mauro F. La-Russa

Head for Petrographical studies of Samshvilde Archaeological Expedition. Department of Biology, Ecology and Earth Science of Calabria University.

+39 0984 493535 (Italy)

www.unical.it/portale/strutture/dipartimenti_240/dibest/docenti/associati/larussa/

mauro.larussa@unical.it

Conservation and Restoration
Dr. Tengiz Gabunia

Architect-restorer of Samshvilde Archaeological Expedition

+(995) 599-260-219

tengabunia@gmail.com

Samshvilde Summer School
Shota Tvaladze

Supervisor

(+995) 551-887786

www.ug.edu.ge

shota.ug.tvaladze@gmail.com

Samshvilde Summer School
Levan Kvakhadze

Supervisor

(+995) 557-840033

www.ug.edu.ge

levan.kvaxadze@gmail.com

Samshvilde Summer School
Davit Tsomaia

Team Member

(+995) 598-449838

www.ug.edu.ge

davitbcd1121@gmail.com